IAS Executive Committee

The Executive Committee acts on behalf of the Governing Council and provides effective oversight and review of the IAS’s operations and finances between Governing Council meetings. The Executive Committee also reviews and appraises the performance of the Executive Director. 

The Executive Committee consists of the President, President-Elect, Treasurer, and one Regional Representative selected from each region from amongst and by Governing Council members of that region, as well as the Executive Director as a non-voting member. The President may also invite other Governing Council members to Executive Committee meetings to participate in discussions of matters within their special competence.


Linda-Gail Bekker
Desmond Tutu HIV Centre
Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine
UCT Faculty of Health Sciences
Anzio Rd
Observatory, 7700
South Africa


Anton Pozniak
St Stephen’s Centre
Chelsea & Westminster NHS Trust
369 Fulham Road
London SW19 9TH
United Kingdom


Celia D.C. Christie-Samuels
University of the West Indies
University Hospital of the West Indies
Department of Pediatrics
Kingston 7


Immediate Past President

Chris Beyrer
Department of Epidemiology
Bloomberg School of Public Health
The Johns Hopkins University
615 North Wolfe Street, Room E-7152
Baltimore, MD 21205-2179

IAS Executive Director

Owen Ryan
International AIDS Society
23 avenue de France
1202 Geneva


Regional Representative on the IAS Executive Committee

Kenneth Mayer
Fenway Institute
Fenway Health
1340 Boylston Street, 8th floor
Boston, MA 02215

Regional Representative on the IAS Executive Committee

Jürgen Rockstroh
Department of Medicine, University of Bonn
Sigmund-Freudstrasse 25
53127 Bonn

Regional Representative on the IAS Executive Committee

Alex Muganga Muganzi
Infectious Diseases Institute
Makerere University College of Health Sciences
P.O BOX 23800

Regional Representative on the IAS Executive Committee

Luis Soto-Ramirez
Department of Infectious Diseases
Inst. Nal. Ciencias Medicas y Nutricion SZ
Vasco de Quiroga 15 Col Secc XVI, Tlalpan Mexico City

Regional Representative on the IAS Executive Committee

Adeeba Kamarulzaman
Faculty of Medicine
University of Malaya
50603 Kuala Lumpur